Now that fall has arrived it’s time to start thinking about the various festivities that will be here before we know it.

I love the crisp weather of fall. Living in TN the summers are often way too hot and with the HIGH humidity it can be absolutely miserable at times. I welcome the fall with open arms every year! I decorate the front porch with (fake) pumpkins and straw people and all the beautiful colors of autumn.

In previous years I would decorate for Halloween with spider webs, skeletons, scary pumpkins and more. Now that we don’t get any Trick or Treaters and the children are grown I just decorate for Fall.

I loved Halloween as a child. It was my favorite holiday! Trick or Treating was the greatest! Times were different then and we were allowed to go out with our friends without our parents. We knew the rules. Mom had to go through our candy before we could eat it and we also knew what houses we could go to. My sister and I loved doing the makeup and dressing for the night (I don’t recall ever having a store bought costume). A Big part of the excitement was seeing how scary you could make yourself look! It was a great time.

When my son was small I usually made his Halloween Costumes (my favorite was the Dragon – took me weeks)! He was sooooooo cute in it! He loved to go Trick or Treating! We would take him to the “Safe Neighborhoods” and he would have a blast for hours going house to house. When his little plastic pumpkin would become to heavy for him to carry we would go to the car and empty it into the pillowcase we had stashed there for that purpose. By the time we got back home that pillowcase would be so heavy!

I once worked at a Halloween Store for the season. It was awesome! We got to wear the costumes at work so we could choose daily what we wanted to be. It was fun dressing up and getting into the character while making a sale. I don’t think I have ever laughed so much at work. Should you get the chance definitely try to work at a Halloween store one season.

HAVE A SAFE & HAPPY HALLOWEEN !!!