Astrology is the science of the effects of the planets movements on our lives and all things. Astrology is based on astronomy in that astrologers need to know the correct positions of the planets at any given time, as well as the correct positions of the zodiacal fixed star signs in relation to any place on earth at any given time.— (Das Goravani, Vedic Astrology)

The 12 Zodiac Signs

Masculine: Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius

Feminine: Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces

March 21-April 19
The first sign of the zodiac. Aries’ symbol is the ram.

April 20 – May 20
The second sign of the zodiac. Taurus’ symbol is the bull.

May 21 – June 21
The third sign of the zodiac. Gemini’s symbol is the twins.

June 22 – July 22
The fourth sign of the zodiac. Cancer’s symbol is the crab.

July 23 – August 22 
The fifth sign of the zodiac. Leo’s symbol is the lion.

August 23 – September 22
The sixth sign of the zodiac. Virgo’s symbol is the virgin.

September 23 – October 23
The seventh sign of the zodiac. Libra is represented by the scales.

October 24 – November 21
The eighth sign of the zodiac. Scorpio can be symbolized by the scorpion, eagle, serpent, phoenix or dove.

November 22 -December 21
The ninth sign of the zodiac. Sagittarius’ symbol is the centaur-archer.

December 22 – January 19
The tenth sign of the zodiac. Capricorn’s symbol is the sea goat.

January 20 – February 18
The eleventh sign of the zodiac. Aquarius’ symbol is the water bearer.

February 19 – March 20
The twelfth sign of the zodiac. Pisces’ symbol are two fish.

The Astrology Elements

Using these 12 astrology equations the ancients developed a system based on 4 basic elements with 3 variations of each of those elements.

Water – emotion

Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces

Earth – physical

Capricorn, Taurus and Virgo

Fire – energy

Leo, Aries and Sagittarius

Air – intellect

Aquarius, Libra and Gemini